Like Canned Chili

2015-07-14 18.13.36RECIPE #19, DAY #16

ORIGINAL RECIPE: This one is completely my own

TIMING: 10 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Nothing special, although a potato masher is handy

COOK TYPE: Stove top

HEALTH: Actually, this is great, unless you are closely watching your sodium. And if you compare it to chili out of the can, it positively shines. Lean protein, tomatoes, some healthful spices. A sure way to add a power burst to your (conscientious) hot dog.

2015-07-14 18.13.42EXPERIENCE: You would be right to ask yourself why you would want to make chili that tasted like it was out of the can. My thoughts were these: I wanted a chili that I could whip up really fast, from pantry staples, that would have that familiar hot-dog-chili taste profile. Since I wanted to be able to make it on the fly and, as always, as affordably as possible, I was not willing to include any additional meat (besides that hot dogs that I had already purchased).

Honestly, I thought I was asking too much. That I should hit the recipe on the first try was very lucky. This is exactly what I was looking for, in every way. Fast, healthy, with no need to purchase more meat, and with that perfect coney island taste.

***

  1. In a small sauce pan, combine 1 cup tomato sauce, 1 can drained navy beans, 1 teaspoon beef bouillon, 1 teaspoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon cocoa powder, 1 teaspoon cornmeal, 1 teaspoon safflower oil, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon cumin, 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano, and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper.
  2. With a potato masher (or the back of a fork), mash the beans until about 1/2 of them are squashed.
  3. Heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until warmed through.

***

Serve with nitrate-free hot dogs, buns, yellow mustard, and finely diced white onions. On the side, you can go with baked fries and a slaw, or any other summertime picnic side, like baked beans, potato salad, corn on the cob, etc.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a comment