Lemonade

IMG_7180RECIPE #9, DAY #6

ORIGINAL RECIPE: None. This is my own.

TIMING: 10 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A heavy-bottomed sauce pan, small to medium

COOK TYPE: Stove top

IMG_7183HEALTH: Well, it’s a summer indulgence, really. Although I’m sure there’s something to be said for lemon juice and for encouraging liquid consumption, lemonade is not exactly a health food. It’s better than soda.

EXPERIENCE: We make lemonade in the summer, and then we drink it. My mom asked me to bring some to her home for our Independence Day celebration, so I pulled out the ol’ standard (like from my head). In the past, I have made this lemonade with a browner white sugar and so called it Dirty Lemonade. This time, my granulated sugar was, although organic and evaporated or whatnot, almost white, so the lemonade looked pretty pale and not “Dirty.” Too bad, because I miss the more molasses-y notes of a more raw sugar.

NOTE: You can do the first few steps of this lemonade and then hold the concentrate until you are ready to mix the batch. I did this for the Fourth so that I could just bring the concentrate to my Mom’s in a small bottle and let her deal with the ice and the unwieldy beverage tap.

***

  1. In a small heavy-bottomed pan, stir together 1 cup water and 1 cup granulated sugar. Heat over low-medium until sugar has completely dissolved.
  2. Add 1 cup lemon juice. Fresh-squeezed is best, but nearly any real juice will work. We buy some snooty brand that costs us a small fortune but promises great lemonade with a smooth–not tinny–taste.
  3. At this point, cool it and keep it in the fridge as a concentrate, or proceed to the next step.
  4. Add to 1 gallon ice/water mixture, starting with 1/2 gallon and tasting as you add more. Stir and serve.

***

Serve over ice on a hot, summer day.

Leave a Reply

