Kevin’s Seven-Egg Brownies

2015-08-13 10.16.56RECIPE #34, DAY #31

ORIGINAL RECIPE: No idea. We have been making these for years.

TIMING: a little over 1 hour

DIFFICULTY: Just follow the directions

TOOLS: A 9×14 (or 9×12) inch baking pan. A stand mixer would be nice.

COOK TYPE: Oven. Baking. and some stove top melting.

HEALTH: Yeah, so these are brownies.

2015-08-13 10.17.15EXPERIENCE: I am going to repeat myself for the third of five times:

We were getting ready for a trip up the east coast, and I had an afternoon of avoiding packing in front of me in which to make the edibles for the long journey northward. Usually, I would have planned out the food and built the ingredients into our regular grocery run. This time, however, it hadn’t worked out that way, and I just had to use whatever was already in the pantry. So what did I think of? Baked goods.

I scoured my cookbooks for recipes which could use up the exact ingredients I had (including milk, eggs, buttermilk, etc.), with nothing too out of the ordinary. And I also wanted simple recipes–like bars instead of cookies or cakes–so that I could whip up any number of them in one afternoon. Thus, I was up to my elbows in two kinds of muffins and three bars, rotating things in and out of the oven, into the evening (and my poor husband had to pick up late carry-out for dinner which, yes, sort of defeated the purpose, but sometimes oneself just can’t be reasoned with).

These are great brownies. We don’t really look for other recipes. My daughter would like them less dark, and I would like them more dark, but what else is new?

NOTES: In order to make me feel better, I used only 1 stick of butter and a scant cup of coconut oil this time around. That works just fine. Go ahead and melt just like the butter.

You could also substitute some spelt flour in for the all purpose, or at least a portion of it.

***

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F and grease a 12×9 inch baking pan.
  2. In a small, heavy-bottomed sauce pan over medium heat, melt 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter. Add 3 cups granulated sugar and stir until sugar has dissolved.
  3. Pour butter and sugar into a stand mixer (or a large mixing bowl), and beat in 7 eggs, one at a time.
  4. Over top of the liquid ingredients, sprinkle 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour, 1 1/4 cup cocoa powder, and 1 teaspoon salt. Mix quickly, scraping the bottom of the bowl, just until everything is incorporated.
  5. Pour the batter into the baking pan. Bake for 50 minutes.
  6. Test for doneness by inserting a toothpick. (A clean toothpick means they are baked through, but I know people like their brownies done to different thoroughness.) Cool before cutting.

***

Serve with a glass of cold milk and a contented smile.

Leave a Reply

