Honey-Soy Wings AND Carrot “Fries”

2015-09-10 17.50.24RECIPE #64 & 65, DAY #74

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “15. Soy-Honey” from Food Network Magazine’s “50 Wings” insert, January-February 2013. I just plain made up the carrot fries*

TIMING: 1 hour

DIFFICULTY: Easy, with the right tools

TOOLS: A sheet pan with a rack insert, tongs, and other basic things. For the fries, another baking pan

COOK TYPE: Oven. Roasting

HEALTH: Wings have a bad name, but they do have some redeeming qualities. That is, if you make them yourself and if you don’t automatically deep fry them. I find the roasting is 1) cheaper, 2) easier, and 3) just as good. You will be eating the fat with the skin, but a lean, conscientious bird is a great way to start, and then just embrace the nutrients in the skin. (They are there.) Plus, with the rack insert, you do render out some of the fat and still get a pleasantly greasy result.

When sports events come round (which, I’ll admit, is rare in my world), I always want me some wings.

As for the carrot fries, there’s never anything wrong with some roasted vegetables. Carrots helps you see like a bunny.

EXPERIENCE: Once again, the story of a recipe begins with me and the meat counter at the local grocery store. I was looking for something cheap. Wings had a pleasant price tag. I started to look away because I have a husband who does not like meat on the bone. But then I wandered back. I love wings, and sometimes we just have to deal with eating something everyone else likes. And that’s cheap.

Originally, this recipe calls for these particular wings to be fried. However, I had made other wing recipes from the magazine insert that were roasted, and they turned out great. So I used the same ingredients but transferred them to the roasted wing recipe.

Also, when wing night came, I did not have the time to flour the wings and let them sit for a long time in the fridge. I was bummed, because everyone from Alton to Tyler say that this is an imperative step in a good wing. I sighed, then I plowed ahead with the recipe, skipping refrigeration. And boy was everybody wrong. Honestly, they came out crispy and perfect without it.

Maybe not my number one way to make wings (I think hot wings and BBQ wings are my favorite), but still a very solid one. I would not object to eating a pound all by myself. And for those who like a little sweet…

NOTES: I pretty much already said it all. You could deep fry these wings at 375F for 15 minutes.

I made the “fries” in response to the presence of honey in the wings and the presence of carrots in my crisper.

***

HONEY-SOY WINGS

  1. Preheat the oven to 425F.
  2. Take 2-3 pounds chicken wings (split at the joints, obviously), and dredge them in salted and peppered flour. Shake them off.
  3. Line a sheet/jelly roll pan with a rack insert (preferably with about 1/2-inch weave) and cover the rack with wings to that they are not touching. For 3 or more pounds, you might need 2 pans and racks.
  4. Put the pan in the oven and roast the wings for 45 minutes, until chicken is nice and crisp.
  5. Meanwhile, whisk together 6 tablespoons melted butter, 1/4 cup honey, and 2 tablespoons soy sauce in a large mixing bowl. When wings are ready, dump them into the mixing bowl and toss gently to coat. Taste for salt and pepper.

***

CARROT “FRIES”

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. Peel 6-8 good-sized carrots. Cut into matchsticks.
  3. Lay carrots out on a sheet pan. Drizzle with 2-3 tablespoons safflower oil and toss.
  4. Bake/roast for 15 minutes. Using a spatula, scrape carrots up and turn over. Bake for another 15 minutes. Repeat turning over. Taste for doneness and continue baking until they are your desired doneness and consistency.
  5. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup mustard (brown or yellow). Whisk together. Set aside.
  6. Sprinkle hot “fries” generously with salt and serve with the honey mustard.

***

Serve with a spread of appetizers and loaded baked potatoes with chili for a SuperBowl party, or for dinner with baked fries, sweet potato fries, or carrot fries and a salad or other green thing.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

