Tangy Corn on the Cob

2015-09-17 20.23.31RECIPE #69, DAY #81

ORIGINAL RECIPE: None, just careful and prolonged observation of The Food Network and various cookbooks*

TIMING: 20 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Pretty easy, although I know it’s hard to believe corn only takes a few minutes to cook

TOOLS: A large soup pot and a pair of tongs

COOK TYPE: Stovetop. Boiling

HEALTH: Yes, I am adding salt and cheese to it, but corn still is a vegetable, loaded with the good stuff. I don’t buy into the whole avoiding-good-foods-because-they’re-carbs thing. Corn is nutritious and delicious.

EXPERIENCE: I have paid attention to the various food advisers that I have encountered over the years, and some of them have said that Mexican corn on the cob–with its Cotija cheese and lime juice–is the best. I also have heard that Cotija cheese can be compared to Parmesan. So, with time, I have added Parmesan and a squeeze of lime to my usual corn on the cob.

Then came a stroke of genius, one which I can say I have never heard elsewhere: I was just sick of figuring out how to neatly and effectively get the butter onto the cob. It came to me as I was boiling the corn. Melt the butter!

So this is how I generally serve corn on the cob, because it’s awesome.

NOTES: Feel free to leave out the cheese and lime and serve the “normal” way.

***

  1. Fill a large soup pot half full of water. Bring to a boil.
  2. Meanwhile, melt 3-4 tablespoons butter in a small pan or bowl. Set aside.
  3. Reduce heat of the boiling water to a more gentle boil and drop in 4-6 husked cobs of corn. Boil 3 minutes and remove corn to a platter with a pair of tongs.
  4. While still steaming hot, drizzle butter over corn and sprinkle evenly with salt. Quickly, sprinkle with 1/4 cup grated Parmesan and a squeeze of 1/2 lime. Serve.

***

Serve with just about anything, especially American or Mexican cuisine, and especially in the summer.

Leave a Reply

