PB and J Smoothie

2015-10-08 07.56.53RECIPE #78, DAY #96

ORIGINAL RECIPE: I totally made this one up

TIMING: 5 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A decent blender

COOK TYPE: None. You just blend/puree

HEALTH: I love smoothies for lots of reasons, and one of them is that they are generally good for you. Of course, they have to be natural and not involve ice cream, but this one is natural and does not involve ice cream. In fact, it’s even vegan. Still, yum!

EXPERIENCE: I have probably made more than 1,000 smoothies over the past 15 years, and plenty since my first kiddo was born 10 years ago. My kids and my husband seem to enjoy a smoothie for breakfast as much as I do. They never say no, and they never reject this winner of a concoction which tastes a whole lot like PB and J, even though it does not actually contain jelly. Even I–who dislike peanut butter and jelly in cahoots–like it.

NOTES: Try this as I laid it out. You can mess with it later, but I’m not convinced it could be improved upon.

I always keep frozen bananas in the freezer. Always. I just grab an extra bunch at the grocery store, peel them when I get home and break them into thirds, placing them in a zipper top freezer bag. Then store in the freezer and wait for a smoothie morning.

***

  1. In a good blender, place in this order: 3-4 frozen bananas broken into thirds, 1 cup frozen blueberries, 6 generous tablespoons peanut butter, 4 tablespoons maple syrup, 2 teaspoons powdered vitamin C (or citric acid), and 2 cups vanilla almond milk.
  2. Blend. Add more almond milk if necessary, and the object is to get the liquid to form a whirlpool at the top but not to thin it too much.

***

Serve with a frantic rush out the door with backpacks and lunch boxes.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

