Chicken Stroganoff

2015-10-01 17.22.37RECIPE #81, DAY #98

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Chicken Stroganoff” from Food Network Kitchen’s online recipes*

TIMING: 25 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Nothing special

COOK TYPE: Stovetop. Boiling, sauteing, and simmering

HEALTH: Chicken’s good. Onions are good. And that’s about as far as we can go, although I strongly believe that some dairy in your diet (if you are lactose tolerant) is a good thing, too. So paired with a whole grain and a veggie, this could be a fine family meal for a busy weeknight. Of course, I made mine with frozen peas and egg noodles, so I don’t exactly get a gold star this time around.

EXPERIENCE: I had acquired some ground chicken. I defrosted it. Then I went to pick up my daughter from school and discovered in the rush hour traffic that I really needed both comfort food and pasta.

So, chicken stroganoff happened.

We would repeat this recipe, but I would not consciously choose it over beef or even pork stroganoff. I also would say it is hearty family fare, not guest food. But it does whip up quick and easy and cheap.

NOTES: So I used ground chicken and omitted the mushrooms, simply because I was working with what I had. While doing these things works, I would recommend the chicken thighs (or leftover chicken) and the mushrooms be kept in the recipe. I also recommend green bells, but my red bell-loving husband prefers those in this recipe.

This recipe is also an awesome way to use leftover chicken. We often have chicken left over from a roast chicken, so I just remove all the skin, bones, and gristle, chop in large chunks, and add at the end of the recipe. I will also add the leftover chicken gravy with the broth, which really ramps up the flavor.

Pork would be a nice substitution.

***

  1. In a large skillet, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat. Add 1 minced onion and 1-2 chopped green bell peppers. Cook until softened.
  2. Add 4 ounces sliced, white mushrooms and cook until they release their juices, about 2 minutes.
  3. Increase heat to medium-high and add 1 pound chunked chicken thighs, 2 tablespoons flour, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, and a hearty pinch of ground black pepper. Stir until chicken is browned.
  4. Add 1 cup chicken broth and 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce. Scrape the bottom of the pan and bring to a simmer, then reduce heat to keep at a simmer. Cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Whisk in 1 cup sour cream and cook another 2 minutes.

***

Serve over egg noodles or kasha with a side of roasted or pickled beets.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

