Smoked Turkey and Black Bean Soup

2015-10-19 17.10.46RECIPE #91, DAY #113

ORIGINAL RECIPE: This recipe idea was shared with me by the guy behind me in line at WholeFoods*

TIMING: 3 hours. More, if you are using a crockpot

DIFFICULTY: Fairly easy

TOOLS: A soup pot or a crockpot and some other usual things

COOK TYPE: Stovetop, saute and a long, slow simmer

HEALTH: This is not only great for you, it’s even better if you’re sick. Between the white meat, the beans, the whole grains, and the veggies, this is packed full of nutrients and vitamins, phytonutrients and building blocks. Also, if you’re sick, there is garlic, vitamin C, and a nice hot broth to help you out.

EXPERIENCE: As I keep saying, I have been trying to find more ways to cook turkey, since it is my husband’s favorite and my daughter does not like chicken. I found some smoked turkey near the meat counter at my grocer, and threw it in my cart. At the checkout, the guy behind me in line asked where I found the turkey. He explained that he normally bought smoked turkey at a different store, so I asked him what he did with smoked turkey. He said that he basically used it as a smoked meat product, as you would smoked pork. He also said he usually put the whole legs in his crockpot with beans or lentils.

The problem is that we still do not have a working crockpot. So, I just figured I would cook the turkey for hours with dried beans or lentils. And then I got sick, which changed two things. First, I wanted to make the recipe easier (like by using canned beans). And second, I wanted to make the recipe a soup, instead of just a plate of legumes. Still, a thicker enough soup to pair well with rice sounded great.

And despite that my taste buds are seriously impaired right now, I wanted this soup to be accompanied by lots of vinegar. Use it to your own taste.

NOTES:The ingredients vary a little from the photo. I have made changes that will improve upon my improvisation.

***

  1. In a soup pot, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium heat. Add 1 diced onion, 1 peeled and diced sweet potato, 2 diced stalks celery, and 3 crushed cloves garlic. Lightly salt and saute until onion is translucent.
  2. Add 2 tablespoons all purpose flour, 1 teaspoons dried thyme, and 1 teaspoon dried oregano. Stir for 1 minute.
  3. Add 4 cups turkey broth, 1 bottle hard cider, 2 drained cans black beans, and 1-2 smoked turkey leg(s). Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer low for 2 1/2 hours, making sure your liquid does not evaporate much.
  4. Meanwhile, cook 1 cup brown rice however you make rice. I steam mine in an electric steamer.
  5. Remove turkey leg(s) to a cutting board and give them time to cool. I waited 1/2 hour.
  6. Remove the skin, bones, fat, and gristle from the leg(s). Shred it then return it to the pot.
  7. Taste for salt and pepper and finish with a splash of apple cider vinegar. Serve with the rice.

***

Serve with a movie, a snuggly pillow and blankie, an orange juice popsicle and a Vernors. Or just as is and a possible green salad.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

