Cool Spinach Dip

2015-11-01 14.12.32RECIPE #99, DAY #128

ORIGINAL RECIPE: Maybe Betty Crocker? This recipe has been around in my kitchen since I first learned to cook. This is the version I had on my previous blog, RealisticChef*

TIMING: 10 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A fine-mesh strainer and some sort of grinder

COOK TYPE: None

HEALTH: I call this dip “redeemed,” because I have made it significantly healthier by removing the MSG-laden soup packet and lightening the mayonnaise with sour cream. Oh, and also increasing the spinach per square inch. It’s still fairly fattening.

Spinach is a super food.

2015-11-01 14.13.07EXPERIENCE: There are foods from my past which just come round and round again with serious regularity. Spinach dip is one of them. My mom used to whip this up (with Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix and Hellman’s Mayonnaise) when I was a kid, and I have always loved it. Then, suddenly, at random points in my adulthood, I just have to have it again.

My migraines prohibit me from using Knorr’s anymore, or probably even Hellman’s. But that’s okay, because my version is a little more guilt-free. Especially when my daughter and I are curled up with a cup of it and a box of crackers on the futon, watching Worst Cooks In America.

NOTES: If you come across a natural vegetable soup seasoning packet, you could use that here instead of the bouillon cubes and all purpose seasoning.

***

  1. Dump 1 1/2-2 pounds premium, chopped, frozen spinach in a fine mesh strainer in the sink and defrost. Squeeze spinach to remove as much water as humanly possible.
  2. In a grinder of some sort (like a mortar and pestle or a small food processor), grind 4 low-salt veggie bouillon cubes (containing no MSG or artificial anything) until powdered.
  3. In a bowl, mix together the bouillon powder with 1 scant cup olive oil mayonnaise (or homemade), 1 cup natural sour cream, , and 1 heaping tablespoon natural all purpose seasoning (with things like garlic, red bell pepper, and onion, etc.; like Bragg’s or 365), until completely incorporated.
  4. Stir in a couple sliced scallions and a small, drained can of julienned or diced water chestnuts. Taste for seasoning, salt, and pepper.

***

Serve with grape tomatoes, sliced red bell pepper, and whole grain crackers. I suppose carrot sticks would also work, I just happen to dislike them.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

