Sausage Scramble

2015-11-10 17.20.44RECIPE #114, DAY #135

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Sausage Scramble,” from Best of the Best One Dish by Favorite Brand Name Recipes*

TIMING: a fairly relaxed 35-45 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy-ish

TOOLS: A sheet or jelly roll pan, a non-stick skillet and spatula that won’t scratch the skillet, etc.

COOK TYPE: Oven (roasting) and stovetop

HEALTH: It’s a relatively healthy and hearty meal. It would probably serve you best for breakfast, when you need the boost of protein and healthy carbs, Plus, I find it difficult to work veggies into breakfast.

2015-11-11 09.00.20EXPERIENCE: Maybe a year ago, my daughter bought me a cookbook from Five Below. Now, I am very particular about cookbooks, but of course I was happy to have a gift from my daughter. However, I discovered there was a little bit of an ulterior motive: she thought a lot of the recipes looked like the kind of food she would like.

Now, whenever I get a new cookbook, I read through the whole thing, marking each recipe with a “must make,” “could make,” and “could leave it” (designated with a star, dot, or nothing). So Win and I sat down together and she marked each recipe as I normally would and I slotted all the starred recipes in the spreadsheet. I can be a team player.

So a couple weeks ago, I needed a dinner with egg as the main protein and I wound up at Best of the Best One Dish (a misnomer, I assure you). It was almost hardly a recipe, and I did not have frozen hashbrowns. However, I had potatoes and the ability to make them into homefries with very little effort.

There is nothing wrong with this recipe, except that it could use some freshness, like in the way of some diced tomato, fresh pico di gallo, cilantro, sliced hot pepper… or something. Enjoy.

***

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Peel and dice 4-6 Yukon gold potatoes and place on a sheet pan or jelly roll pan. Toss with enough safflower oil to coat and then liberally sprinkle with 1 1/2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, 1/4 teaspoon dry thyme, and 1/4 teaspoon dry sage.Toss again bake for 30 minutes, tossing once or twice near the end.
  3. With about 10 minutes to go, in a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown 1 pound ground sausage meat with 1 diced green bell pepper until peppers are soft and meat is brown.
  4. Meanwhile, in a small mixing bowl, whisk together 8 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, and a pinch of salt and pepper. When the sausage is ready, pour the eggs over the top and stir slowly until eggs are set. Taste for salt and pepper.
  5. Remove the potatoes from the oven and check for doneness. They should be brown on the outside and soft and light on the inside. When done, fold the potatoes into the scramble and serve hot.

***

Serve with hot sauce and some fresh veggies or herbs, such as tomatoes, cilantro, and jalapeno. Some might want ketchup, as well.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

