BBQ Baked Beans

2016-01-13 17.57.16RECIPE #164, DAY #200

ORIGINAL RECIPE: Um… I forgot to write it down before I packed, but it’s one of our usual crockpot cookbooks*

TIMING: 8-10 hours

DIFFICULTY: Not

TOOLS: Crockpot/Slow Cooker

COOK TYPE: Crockpot

HEALTH: It’s always good to try and work some more legumes (beans and lentils) into your diet.

2016-01-13 17.57.08EXPERIENCE: We are fans of baked beans. I like them because they’re beans. I like the taste of beans and I like the health properties of beans. My kids like baked beans because they are sweet. In fact, I don’t call them baked beans at home: I refer to them as “Sweet Beans” and that has really worked in my favor over the years.

I thought we would try a couple baked bean recipes with the new crockpot, and I went for this one because my kids not only love anything “sweet,” they also love barbecue sauce. So this recipe was pretty much a win, but I like the traditional baked bean flavor profile better.

Mine also came out runny, so I removed the lid for the last hour and increased the heat, but it still could have been much thicker. Try the last 2 hours? Mine were also underdone, which I think was the fault of the age of my beans. The original recipe also suggests using an immersion blender for a couple seconds at the end, to thicken. Let me know if this recipe works for you.

NOTES: We always use Dinosaur BBQ sauce.

***

  1. Soak 1 pound dried white beans overnight.
  2. In the morning, drain the beans and add to your slow cooker, combined with 3 cups water, 1 cup coffee, 1 diced onion, 4 pressed garlic cloves, 1 cup favorite barbeque sauce, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons molasses, 1 tablespoon brown mustard, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, and 1 teaspoon hot sauce.
  3. Cook for 8-10 hours on low-medium.

Serve with hot dogs and coleslaw, or just slaw and a nice, crusty bread.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

