Teriyaki Chicken Breasts

2016-01-19 17.39.45RECIPE #167, DAY #206

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Chicken Teriwacky” from Jan and Greta Podleski’s Eat, Shrink, and Be Merry*

TIMING: 20 minutes, after a marinade

DIFFICULTY: Almost easy

TOOLS: An indoor or outdoor grill

COOK TYPE: Indoor or outdoor grill, even a grill pan

HEALTH: This is a healthy dinner entree. Not much to argue about, there.

EXPERIENCE: I had chicken breasts and I was exhausted from running around my normal life while sporting and head cold. So I turned to one of my easy dinner cookbooks (actually my favorite easy dinner cookbook), Eat, Shrink, and Be Merry. Chicken teriyaki sounded easy enough, and I was so overwhelmed I made very little else. I recommend a more well-rounded meal.

In the end, I found this recipe to be fine. I’m not going to go singing its praises down the street, but I also might make it again. It just didn’t have enough of that sticky sauciness that I associate with chicken teriyaki, but I think that’s partly because the cut of meat is so lean and so there very little fat mingling with the sauce. Mine was overcooked, which I am going to blame on the head cold.

NOTES: I’m not very convinced that marinades do much. But I don’t think it hurts, either, to get a little ahead of yourself come dinnertime.

***

  1. In the morning (or even the night before), in a small bowl whisk together 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tablespoons lime juice, 2 tablespoons honey, 2 tablespoons ketchup, 1 tablespoon grated ginger, 2 teaspoons orange zest, 1 pressed garlic clove, and a few minced scallions. Dump into a sealable container with 4 chicken breasts which you have stabbed evenly with a fork, and seal. Set in the fridge and marinate until dinnertime.
  2. Preheat your grill to medium heat. Coat your grill with oil and remove the chicken from the marinade. Grill for about 15 minutes, turning once, until internal temp is more than 165F.
  3. Meanwhile, in a small sauce pan, pour your marinade. Bring to a boil and simmer rapidly for a few minutes, until syrupy. (This is important to kill any bacteria.)
  4. Let chicken rest, then slice on the bias and serve brushed with the sauce and garnished with thin-sliced scallion and chopped cilantro.

Serve with almond Jasmine rice and grilled bok choy or green beans (with an Asian vinaigrette).

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

