Macaroni Salad

2016-01-27 14.28.19RECIPE #178, DAY #215

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Classic Macaroni Salad” from Graden on AllRecipes.com*

TIMING: 30 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Nothing special

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: Mmm… With all the mayonnaise, sugar, and pasta, I would not count this as “healthy.” And yet, you could do much worse than a homemade pasta salad with a bunch of raw veggies in it.

EXPERIENCE: I really prefer my macaroni salad the way my mom made it–savory with tuna. But in the South, macaroni salad has a light, creamy, sweet dressing and no protein. So when I needed a filling side to go with my picnic kabobs, I thought of a traditional macaroni salad. Alas, I did not have a recipe for it, even in my Southern cookbooks. So I turned to AllRecipes and found one rated by over 2,000 people. It turned out just like it should have (with a couple changes, of course).

NOTES: You could easily double the veggies.

Tip: to reduce the sometimes dominating taste of the onion (especially if your salad is going to wait until being served), soak it in ice water for 15-30 minutes before draining and adding to the macaroni.

I cut the sugar in half, because I am not a sugar-crazed American. The sugar in the revised recipe was plenty, even for my sugar-crazed American family.

***

  1. Cook 8 ounces macaroni in salted water according to package directions. Drain and rinse with cold water. Set aside in a mixing bowl.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1/6 cup granulated sugar, 1 tablespoon cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon orange juice, 1 1/4 tablespoons yellow mustard, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper.
  3. To the macaroni, add 2 tablespoon diced red onion, 1 diced stalk celery, 1/2 diced green bell pepper, 1/2 diced red bell pepper, and 1/4 cup grated carrot. Toss, then stir in the mayo mixture.

Serve with picnic or barbeque fare, like pulled pork, slaw, pickles, Sunshine Broccoli salad, and lemonade.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

