Wheat Waffle Trail Mix

2016-01-31 18.28.57RECIPE #186, DAY #219

ORIGINAL RECIPE: I believe I originally got this recipe from a box of Chex, years and years ago*

TIMING: A little over 1 hour

DIFFICULTY: Easy, but you have to keep your eye on it at the end

TOOLS: Just a jelly-roll pan or something like

COOK TYPE: Oven and something to melt your butter

HEALTH: I always feel guilty after eating my homemade Chex mix, but that’s probably because I eat entirely too much. I make mine with whole grain, natural waffle cereal and natural butter, herbs, and spices. So in moderation, it would be a good school or work snack.

EXPERIENCE: I love making homemade Chex mix, especially for hiking and road trips. But when I can’t keep my hand out of the bag, I end up having to wait awhile before I make the next batch.

This is a straight-up family favorite.

NOTES: I have had to increase the butter and seasoning salt in the this recipe, because I use a denser, heartier cereal. If you go with Chex brand, you may decrease the butter to 6 tablespoons and the seasoning salt to 2 teaspoons.

Bagel chips are a great addition to this. Just add 1-2 cups, or swap out some of the wheat waffle cereal.

***

  1. Preheat oven to 250F.
  2. Melt 1/2 cup butter on the stove or in the microwave. Whisk in 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 1 tablespoon seasoned salt, 3/4 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1/2 teaspoon onion powder.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, toss 1 box wheat (or corn or rice) waffle cereal, 2 cups small pretzels, and 1 cup raw peanuts. Drizzle with butter mixture and toss again.
  4. Spread the mixture in a jelly roll pan and bake for 1 hour, turning over every 15 minutes. Taste for seasoning and serve once cooled.

Serve as a road trip, lunch box, or hiking pit stop with a large bottle of water.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Save

Leave a Reply

