Chopped Broccoli with Lemon

2016-01-31 13.09.27RECIPE #185, DAY #219

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Chopped Broccoli with Lemon,” from Deborah Madison’s tome, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone*

TIMING: 10-15 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A steamer, either for the stove top or electric

COOK TYPE: Stovetop or electric steamer

HEALTH: Eating this side dish earns you a gold star. Broccoli is not only good for you, it’s an area of the American diet (sulfur veggies/crucifers) that we do not pay nearly enough attention to. With some heart-healthy olive oil and invigorating lemon, we have a real winner, here.

EXPERIENCE: I’m back to meal planning, largely because juggling selling a house and everything else that was already on my plate has proven too chaotic to do anything else. So I had some veggie-less meals on the schedule and went to search the spreadsheet. This one popped up, untried, so I slotted it in.

Technically, I meant to make this broccoli with ham and mac ‘n’ cheese and the stir-fried broccoli with the sweet meatballs and rice, which would have made more culinary sense. But I glanced at the meal plan on the fridge and go my cookbook references crossed. Whoops. Still, both of them were crowd pleasers.

This one, in particular, hardly counts as a recipe, but it does.

NOTES: My broccoli was not lemony enough for me, so I added some of the lemon’s zest, which ended up being too much lemon. I suggest that you add a very little at a time, if yours is not lemony enough.

Also, I walked away to let my broccoli steam for 10 minutes, and that was too long. My broccoli was overdone, as you can probably tell by the photo. I suggest something more like 5 minutes: just keep your eye on it.

***

  1. Chop 1 head broccoli–including tender stalks–into a rough dice. Steam for 5 minutes, until bright green and tender.
  2. Remove from heat and gently toss with 2 tablespoons olive oil, juice of 1 lemon, and salt and pepper. Taste for flavorings and serve right away.

Serve with just about anything, especially when you’ve already got the steamer going. It’s a great side dish for any weeknight, especially a busy weeknight.w

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

