Sausage Gravy for Biscuits

2016-02-21 10.29.18RECIPE #201, DAY #240

ORIGINAL RECIPE: Just experience and desire*

TIMING: 20 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Pretty easy

TOOLS: Nothing special

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: Bulk sausage is often uncured, and doesn’t have the same pitfalls as cured meat. It is still fatty, although you could get a leaner pork sausage or even a bulk chicken sausage. But then, you’re still adding dairy and butter and serving with white flour and more butter. I don’t know. I think this breakfast is well worth it, once in awhile.

EXPERIENCE: As I have shared, we are renovating our home, so I have us on a repetitive food schedule (and yes, it’s sort of killing me). Saturday and Sunday mornings are for my homemade 2-ingredient biscuits, but I have some room in the topping department. So far, we have done butter and jam, Nutella, and honey. So when facing the grocery list this week, I thought grrraaa-vvvyyy.

I love biscuits and gravy, which is a birth right from my Southern grandfather in my Northern family. Only as a Southern import myself have I learned to love a biscuit for biscuits’ sake, but I will still happily take it smothered in sausage and milk gravy.

This is a very simple recipe. No frills.

NOTES: If your meat is lean, add 2 tablespoons butter before the flour. If it is very fatty, drain off all but a few tablespoons of the fat.

Some minced onion and/or diced bell pepper would be a nice addition. As would a little thyme, red pepper flake, and sage. Perhaps a fried sage garnish? Chicken bouillon wouldn’t hurt. And I wonder about 2 tablespoons of maple syrup…

***

  1. In a cast iron skillet (or other skillet) over medium-high heat, cook and crumble 3/4 pound bulk breakfast sausage until browned.
  2. Reduce heat to medium and add 1/4 cup all purpose flour. Work in for 1 minute.
  3. Whisk in 2 cups milk and stir until gravy is thickened. Taste for salt and (plenty of) ground black pepper. Serve hot over fresh biscuits.

Serve with a fruit bowl and an empty stomach.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

