Classic Tuna Sandwich

2016-02-29 12.23.43RECIPE #203, DAY #244

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Classic Tuna Sandwich” from 400 Best Sandwich Recipes by Allison Lewis.*

TIMING: 10 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Nothing special

COOK TYPE: None

HEALTH: I used this recipe (as opposed to making my usual tuna sandwich) because I wanted to see what would happen with less mayonnaise (than I usually would use). Turns out, you can use less mayo and have your sandwich still taste great. Plus, working fish into your diet (a couple times per week) is great. Just mind your large fish intake (because of mercury content), including albacore tuna.

EXPERIENCE: Repeat same old song. Still packing and renovating and still making things like lots of sandwiches. I only tried this recipe, as stated above, to see what would happen with limited mayo.

Turns out, it works. I would like added, minced onion, but otherwise, this works.

(Also, I do love a slab of salted, peppered tomato and lettuce on my tuna sammies, but only in season and only if the bread is toasted. Yum!)

NOTES: As stated above, I would add just 2 tablespoons of minced, white onion. And in the summer, I would toast my bread and add a (salted and peppered) thick slice of tomato and some lettuce.

At times, I will also add pickle relish, lemon zest, and/or garlic powder to my tuna salad. I would not do all three at once.

***

  1. In a small mixing bowl, break up 2 cans (or packages) drained albacore tuna with a fork. Add 1/4 cup diced celery, 1/3 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 teaspoon salt (especially for low-salt tuna), and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper. Stir just until combined.
  2. Lay out 8 slices sourdough (or white) bread. Spread tuna evenly on 4 slices. Top with remaining slices, cut in half, and serve.

Serve with chips and a pickle.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

