Corned Beef Supper

2016-02-27 17.49.21RECIPE #204, DAY #246

ORIGINAL RECIPE: The corned beef is from Ruhlman.com, and the supper is from 365 Slow Cooker Suppers, by Stephanie O’Dea*

TIMING: At least 2 days, with 8 hours in the crockpot and very little prep time

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A crockpot or slow cooker (or even a Dutch oven and some patience)

COOK TYPE: Crockpot/slow cooker (or even oven)

HEALTH: This is an age-old combination of meat, potatoes, and veggies. There is nothing wrong with this.

EXPERIENCE: I am still doing experiments to see what meals actually turn out nice in the slow cooker. (I think this list is short, but I suspected that low-and-slow cooked meats would be on it.) I saw corned beef in the crockpot cookbook, and I said, “cool.” Then I tried to buy corned beef and they said, “Come back at St. Paddy’s Day,” and I said, “What? I can only be Irish once a year?” But that sass didn’t make corned beef appear at the meat counter.

So I bough beef brisket and used the internet to come up with this simple, yummy home-corned beef. I’m sure I will be making it again.

As for the crock pot part: I do think corned beef worked in the slow cooker, and that’s more than I can say for many other meals. But the meal itself had two problems: the veggies were a little crisp (for a roast) and flavor wise, underwhelming. Also, I made a gravy with the juices, which I highly recommend, but with all that mustard in the baste it was sorta kinda weird. Then again, everyone got seconds and said the gravy was nice. I have made some changes to hopefully rectify everything.

NOTES: Use the specified red or gold potatoes for this, not russet.

Note that I did not add pink salt to this recipe. I do not believe in pink salt. I think the world is a happier place without it. Whatever. Too many suspicious nitrates=migraine.

***

  1.  In a medium sauce pan, combine 1 quart water, 1/4 cup salt, 1/2 cup sugar, 3 peeled cloves garlic, 1/2 tablespoon black pepper balls, 1/2 tablespoon mustard seed, 1/2 tablespoon coriander seed, 1/2 tablespoon red pepper flake, 1/2 tablespoon allspice berries, 1/2 tablespoon cloves, 1 teaspoon mace, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1 bay leaf, and 1 cinnamon stick.
  2. Heat over medium heat, stirring, until sugar and salt have dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool completely.
  3. In a large zipper top bag (or other sealable container), place your brine and a 2 pound beef brisket, totally submerged. (It’s best to remove the air from the bag.) Refrigerate for 24 hours up to a few days.
  4. Remove your brisket from the brine and place in your slow cooker.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk together 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup brown mustard, and 1 tablespoon molasses. Spread over top the brisket.
  6. On top of the corned beef, add 6 red (or gold) potatoes, peeled and quartered, 6 quartered carrots, 1 head wedged cabbage, 1 package peeled pearl onions, 1 bay leaf, 1 teaspoon peppercorns, 1/2 teaspoon coriander seed, 1 bay leaf, and 1 teaspoon salt.
  7. To the side of the insert, gently pour 1 cup beef broth.
  8. Cover and cook for 8 hours on medium (or even high).

Serve on a platter with a gravy made from the drippings and juices. All it takes is a little butter and flour.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

