Balsamic Glazed Veggies

2016-04-05 19.04.12RECIPE #217, DAY #284

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Balsamic (or Honey) Glazed Vegetables” from Rachel Ray’s 30 Minute Meals 2*

TIMING: 20 minutes or much, much more

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Nothing special, just a sauce pan with a lid

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: Despite that these veggies can turn out cooked within an inch of their lives, they are not boiled or drained so they retain many of their nutrients. On the other hand, if you have to drain off much of the cooking liquid because there was just too much to begin with, you’ll lose some of the goodness.

It is veggies. And its flavorings come mainly not from fat, sugar, or salt, so that’s a great thing.

2016-04-05 19.11.12EXPERIENCE: And here is the final recipe for tonight’s 30 minutes meal. It won’t be my last 30 minute meal, and if you don’t know why then you haven’t been paying attention. Or you’re new. We’re moving. Packing. Etc.

I hated these veggies, which is saying a lot because vegetables are my favorite food group (except for maybe tied with proteins. I would make a natural paleo). I mean, I see people on Food Network using balsamic everywhere, all the time… even in desserts, but I always think, “Ehn. Sounds gross.” So I wasn’t totally surprised that I didn’t like this simplified recipe.

However, I was shocked that everyone else in my family loved it and my 8-year-old son asked me to save the leftovers so he could eat more tomorrow.

I’ll be making it again.

NOTES: I have reduced the water and balsamic in this recipe because I had way too much to reduce properly when I made it. Hopefully this will work for you, but if not, you may have to add more.

I also think some improvements would be to use broth instead of water and to add 1-2 tablespooons of honey. What do I know?

Also, carrots and zucchini do not cook at the same rate. Adjust if this bugs you as much as it bugs me. I did not use broccoli and don’t think I ever will.

***

  1. In a medium sauce pan, place 2 pounds mixture of baby-fied carrots, broccoli florets, and zucchini cut into sticks, 1/4 cup water (or broth), and 1/2 cup premium balsamic vinegar. Bring to a boil and cover.
  2. Simmer for 10 minutes over medium heat. Check to see that veggies are almost tender. Simmer strongly with the lid off until liquid becomes a glaze. Taste for salt and pepper.
  3. Remove from heat and top with 2 tablespoon melted, unsalted butter and optional minced herbs.

Serve with Pork Chops with Gravy and Risotto-Style Orzo or just about any other Western-style meat and potatoes meal.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

