Trailer Mac ‘n’ Cheese

2016-04-06 18.14.14.jpgRECIPE #218, DAY #285

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Trailer Mac” from Homeroom’s Mac + Cheese*

TIMING: 30 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Fairly easy, but you have to be careful to get the sauce to thicken

TOOLS: A heavy-bottomed sauce pan and a whisk, mostly

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: This is perhaps the worst thing that I have put on this blog, so far. I don’t have any great excuses. I was just trying to please my kids and–I’ll admit it–I was curious to try potato chips on mac ‘n’ cheese since they work so well on tuna casserole. This dish is fatty, low in fiber, high in carbs, and void of veggies. Did I say it was fatty? Like unredemptively so.

EXPERIENCE: Like I said, I was trying to please my kids. At the library, I was searching for easy dinner cookbooks, and this book on Mac + Cheese popped out to me because my son has a lifelong obsession with macaroni and cheese. I took it home, marked a few that seemed kid- and supper-friendly, and put one recipe on the schedule for the first week. This was it, and wow, what a doozy.

I discovered two things. One, even though it may seem like a no-brainer, I do not like hot dogs in my mac ‘n’ cheese.  Two, I am unlikely to ever eat mac ‘n’ cheese again without thinking that there should be some chips on top. Kettle chips and mac ‘n’ cheese are–I hate to say it–a match made in heaven. The gooey and sharp with the crunchy and mellow… Yum! Then again, the whole thing is SO decadent and rich that you need something to cut it. In other words, this is not a one-dish meal; it’s a slightly insane side dish or even a decadent entree meant for a seriously redemptive veggie side or two.

NOTES: Ideally, your milk would be warm or even hot, but I never do this step and everything turns out for me okay. If your sauce won’t thicken, this might be your issue.

***

  1. Cook 8 ounces macaroni according to package directions. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a heavy-bottomed medium saucepan, heat 1/3 cup unsalted butter over medium heat. As soon as it has melted, add 1/3 cup all purpose flour and whisk for 3 minutes.
  3. Whisk in 2 cups milk. Continue to whisk for 2-3 minutes until sauce has thickened. Add 3/4 teaspoon salt.
  4. Quickly stir in 2 cups grated, extra sharp cheddar and 4 diced, nitrate-free hot dogs. Add in pasta and continue to stir until hot and creamy. Taste for flavorings.
  5. Serve spooned into individual bowls with plain kettle potato chips crumbled over the top.

***

Serve with veggies, veggies, and more raw veggies. And, in the morning, a detox juice.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

