Bean and Cheese Casserole

2016-04-09 17.46.20RECIPE #222, DAY #288

FIVE STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: I think it’s called “Bean and Cheese Casserole” from How It All Vegan… I think*

TIMING: 30-45 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Veeeery easy

TOOLS: Nothing much: an oven and a baking pan of almost any sort

COOK TYPE: Oven

HEALTH: It is vegetarian. And on the kind of night you’re going to use this, you could do a whole lot worse. It’s a way to feed and even please everyone, on the cheap and with very minimal effort. Protein and veggies. And if you buy the right potatoes, not really bad at all.

EXPERIENCE: I have been making this family-pleasing casserole for years, since we were vegetarians. It became a staple when I decided I needed to have a few migraine-friendly meals on hand at all times which my husband, or even my children or a mom with an impending migraine (and–no joke–partial blindness), could whip up. This is my favorite of the few I managed to stock for years.

With just a bag of frozen potatoes–of almost any shape or type–, a can of baked beans, and some cheddar cheese, you have an insta-casserole ready for the oven.

And it’s vegetarian, to boot.

NOTES: Obviously, I would tell you to buy the best, non-additive potatoes, and the best baked beans. I love WholeFoods.

The potatoes that I have tried that work here: frozen hash browns, tater tots, and fries. If there are others, they would probably work, as well.

***

  1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  2. In a baking dish, dump 1 average-sized bag of frozen potatoes.
  3. Open 1 can of baked beans and stir in 1 tablespoon yellow mustard. Evenly pour beans over the potatoes.
  4. Top casserole with 8 oz grated, extra sharp cheddar and bake for 30 minutes. Check to see if it is bubbly and hot throughout. Serve straight from the oven.

***

Serve with a salad. Like, if you have that kind of energy and time.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

