Better Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

2016-04-19 12.31.00-2RECIPE #234, DAY #302

FOUR STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Belinda’s Chicken Noodle Soup” from LEON: Naturally Fast Food*

TIMING: 20-30 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Something to make soup in, like a soup pot or a wok

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: This is a great meal, especially for when your husband has a sinus infection. I had to talk him in to adding spice, but it helps with the sinuses. He felt much better after just half a bowl.

Sickness aside, this is a healthful meal for any time, especially when it’s cooler weather. Gluten free, full of veggies, warming, and anti-inflammatory, this gets an A, and all in one dish.

EXPERIENCE: Yes, I just made an Asian Chicken Noodle Soup a few weeks ago. I used a Rachel Ray recipe, and I was less than pleased with it. So, as the moving-houses-without-my-cookbooks drags on, I have come to rely more on my library find, LEON. Therefore, my using “Belinda’s Chicken Noodle Soup” was a sort of backlash, or at least a try for redemption. I believe that it worked.

There might be a Best Asian Chicken Noodle Soup out there, but for now I’m sticking with this one.

NOTES: I know I just insinuated that I really like this LEON cookbook, but there was a glaring issue with this particular recipe. It only called for 4 cups of liquid, and that was never going to be enough for a soup for dinner, or for that many noodles. Even double the liquid will dry out pretty fast with 8 ounces noodles, no matter the brand.

I also simplified the cooking method a little bit.

Ginger would also be welcome here. Add with the garlic.

***

  1. In a soup pot or wok, heat 2 tablespoons peanut oil over medium-high heat. Add 2 cloves thin-sliced garlic and stir for a few seconds. Add 2 diced chicken breasts, 8 ounces sliced mushrooms (preferably shiitake or cremini), salt and pepper, and stir-fry until meat is cooked through.
  2. Add 3 tablespoons soy sauce and 2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil and fry until absorbed.
  3. Add 8 cups chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add 8 ounces rice noodles and 4 ounces chopped bok choy. Cover and boil gently for 4 minutes. Taste for salt and seasonings, sprinkle with 1 handful chopped cilantro, and serve hot.

***

Serve steaming with lime wedges and Sambal Oelek.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

