Light Tuna Salad

2016-04-22 11.38.14RECIPE #239, DAY #304

FIVE STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: A segment from “Tuna Mac” from Arevalo’s and Wade’s Mac + Cheese*

TIMING: 5 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: Just a knife and cutting board, pretty much

COOK TYPE: None

HEALTH: Well, if you are accustomed to drowning your tuna in mayonnaise, like I am, this is a step up, health-wise, for you. Also, eating fish a couple times per week (and limiting large fish, like albacore), is great for your health.

EXPERIENCE: I have to admit, I was both dubious and annoyed when I made this recipe. I was dubious about the claim that it was an “incredible, stand-alone tuna salad” because–believe me–there is absolutely nothing special in it and it seems WAY too dry. I was annoyed because the recipe made more than twice as much was needed for the tuna mac ‘n’ cheese recipe it was going in. (I am finding this cookbook to be sorta, overall annoying in this way and also lackluster in recipes).

I was very pleasantly surprised. There is something about this tuna salad that really is amazing. I used it to dip crackers and pretzels, and I enjoyed every bite. It also had this made-at-a-fancy-deli feel and taste. I think this might be due to hitting on perfect proportions, which is a principle I am realizing in eminently important to great cooking.

I will be using it often.

NOTES: See HERE for my Classic Tuna Sandwich.

***

  1. In a small mixing bowl, combine 15 ounces drained albacore tuna, 1/4 cup minced white onion, 3 stalks diced celery, 1/4 cup mayonnaise, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper. Taste for seasonings.

***

Serve on bread, on greens, stuffed in a tomato, or with crackers.

*Recipe has been changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

