Barbecue-Sauce Baked Chicken

dsc_1157RECIPE #287, DAY #486

FOUR STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Sticky Chicky,” from the Podleskis’s Eat, Shrink, and Be Merry*

TIMING: 45 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy, but you need to know when chicken is perfectly cooked

TOOLS: A baking pan, a small sauce pan, and a whisk

COOK TYPE: Oven and stovetop

HEALTH: I suppose this has more sugar than would be in a perfect diet, but a little sauce on your chicken won’t be the end of you.

dsc_1158

EXPERIENCE: I had defrosted chicken breasts and, when it came time to make dinner, I had no mental energy left. So what did I think of? Baked chicken. Which I sorta hate, because it usually turns out dry and tough. But I also knew that one of the only ways to get my daughter to eat chicken is to slather it with barbecue sauce. And I do respect the Podleski’s recipes. So I tried it.

After I slid it in the oven, I had to set the timer and scoot out the door to pick up the kids from bowling with their grandma. I arrived back just as the chicken was supposed to finish, but of course I never should have trusted chicken to the oven, alone. It came out overcooked, so I would strongly recommend keeping an eye on it.

Then again, the sauce is really delicious.

NOTES: This makes double what we need.

I was reluctant to make a barbecue sauce that’s main ingredient is barbecue sauce. It is really good, though. Addictive. Think of it as doctored barbecue sauce.

I understand that although this recipe uses a barbecue sauce, it is not at all barbecue. It’s just baked chicken with barbecue sauce. You could grill or smoke the chicken with this sauce, though. It would be excellent.

***

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together 1/2 cup barbecue sauce, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard, 2 pressed cloves garlic, 1 inch minced ginger2 teaspoons chili powder, and 1 teaspoon cumin.
  3. Place 2 pounds boneless chicken breasts or thighs in the bottom of a baking pan so that they sit flat without overlapping. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Pour sauce over and flip to cover. Bake 30 minute before checking for done-ness.
  4. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together 1 tablespoon cornstarch with 1 tablespoon water. Set aside.
  5. When chicken is cooked through but not overbaked, remove from the oven. Move chicken to a platter and dump barbecue sauce into a small sauce pan. Turn heat to medium-high and whisk in the cornstarch mixture. Simmer briefly, until sauce is thick and sticky. Pour over chicken and serve right away.

***

Serve with a grain and a veggie, such as Chickeny Rice and French Style Frozen Peas. A cup of milk would take me right back to my childhood.

*Recipe changed from the original.

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Sounds so delicious, makes me so hungry right now 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

