Cherryade aka. Compote

dsc_1291RECIPE #300, DAY #500

FOUR STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Compote (Moldovan Cherryade)” from my old blog, RealisticChef*

TIMING: 1/2 hour

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A soup pot and a large pitcher

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: This is as healthy, approximately, as lemonade. So not very.

dsc_1276EXPERIENCE: This is the third of the recipes that I used for my Moldovan-themed Supper Club. I do remember drinking compote in Moldova–pronounced more like “com-put” and served warm or room temperature–and I started making it soon after coming home. It has always been well-liked, although it is not my favorite. It is really sweet, and has a distinct tea-like flavor (from the tanins?). I have actually added the lemon, over time, in order to complicate the flavor a little more, which I think it needs.

NOTES: You could make this with other fruits, but I have always stuck to the traditional.

This makes a more manageable amount of compote, but I would double or triple for a party.

You could probably reduce the fruit to 10-12 ounces, but the result would be more watery. A freezer package of cherries would be about right.

***

  1. In a soup pot, bring 4 cups water to a boil with 1 pound fresh and pitted or frozen cherries and 1 cup sugar. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.
  2. Strain drink through a sieve, pushing out extra juices, and discard the fruit. Serve warm or room temp. (You can can save it for later consumption by storing in the fridge, which I am sure would appeal to Americans more, anyhow.)

***

Serve with a Moldovan-themed supper, like stuffed cabbage or Pork Paprikash and Mamaliga.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

