Sausage with Milk Gravy

dsc_1373RECIPE #320, DAY #514

THREE STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Free Range Chicken Sausage Gravy” from Martin’s Green Market Baking Book*

TIMING: 15 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy enough

TOOLS: A heavy skillet, a whisk, and a spatula

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: You don’t really win the health game with sausage and milk gravy. Then again, if you pair it with some sauteed greens, sliced tomatoes, and cornbread, you probably won’t die. You will need to hike, though, at some point that day.

EXPERIENCE: Second day in row that my food blog begins with “my son begged me to get…” Are you beginning to see how our grocery trips go? I have ever taken the hard line on snack and candies and baubles, so I, instead, get children begging for chicken drumsticks and breakfast sausage. There are worse things.

I love sausage gravy, but I find that I don’t like most sausage gravy recipes. Honestly, this is the best one I have come across, but it also has this sort of high-falutin’ back taste (from the garlic and fancy herbs), which I would like to skirt around. Then again, it’s part of what made this particular recipe yummy, so I wouldn’t change it here. So it’s okay. I just won’t stop looking for my perfect recipe.

I did modify it, and served the gravy with a sausage patty, instead of crumbling the sausage into the gravy, as is customary. I did this to avoid a food tantrum. You could do either.

We all ate this up, although the star of the dinner was the corn bread, which I will post next.

NOTES:  My sausage did not have any grease, so I had to modify the recipe. You could either add some butter and oil to the pan before cooking the sausage (if you know it is lean), or you could rinse out the pan after the sausage to remove any burnt bits, then add fresh oil and butter before making the gravy. You want about 2 tablespoons fat before starting the gravy. I mean, ideally, there would be grease from the sausage.

You can use chicken sausage patties, or pork or turkey, just make sure they are breakfast sausage.

***

  1. In a heavy-bottomed skillet, cook 1 pound sausage patties (without crowding the pan) over medium-high heat, until browned and just cooked through. Set aside.
  2. Leave 2 tablespoons grease in the pan (or add 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon safflower oil if there is none). Over medium heat, saute 1/2 minced onion and 1 clove smashed garlic until onion is beginning to brown.
  3. Add a pinch each of rosemary, thyme, and parsley and stir. Reduce heat to medium-low and work in 2 tablespoons all purpose flour and stir for 1 minute.
  4. Whisk in 1 cup cream (or milk, if you roll like that) and 1 cup half and half and 3/4 teaspoon black pepper. Continue to whisk until gravy has thickened. Taste for salt and remove garlic clove.
  5. Either crumble the sausage and add back to the gravy, or leave patty whole and top with the gravy.

***

Serve with biscuits or corn bread and sauteed greens. Sliced tomatoes would be a nice side, as well, at the peak of season.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Save

Leave a Reply

