Mulled Cider

dsc_0067RECIPE #393, DAY #568

FOUR STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Mulled Cider,” from my own collection, It’s All Good, from a recipe my mother-in-law passed down to me*

TIMING: 20 minutes minimum

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: If you are mulling for awhile, cheesecloth and kitchen twine

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: A nice, comforting hot cider is not a bad idea (especially if it is unfiltered–good luck finding that). This had added sugar, though. You could always omit it and rely on the natural sweetness of the juice.

EXPERIENCE: I am from Michigan, which makes me an apple cider aficionado. It is really difficult to find decent cider (or even an actual cider–cider is not flavored apple juice) all the way down here in North Carolina, but I have found one that I buy year after year, which is Apple Wedge. Nothing beats buying it straight from the giant wooden machine swarming with bees, at the orchard.

Still, I spend all fall (and into the winter) drinking cider, both ice cold (with cinnamon doughnuts) and warm (snuggled up on the couch). This is 1 of my basic recipes.

NOTES: This recipe does not include orange. You can just place a half-orange in the pot and let mull for awhile. (I love the orange taste, I just don’t like feeling like I wasted an orange.)

I apologize for the terrible photo. Early winter darkness is not a friend to my blog photos.

***

  1. In a sauce pan, combine 2 quarts apple cider with 3 cinnamon sticks, 10 cloves, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and a 1 inch piece of peeled ginger. If you will be mulling for awhile (which is recommended), make sure to wrap the cloves, cinnamon sticks, and ginger in cheesecloth and tie with kitchen twine.
  2. Bring to a boil, then reduce to low. Mull for a minimum of 15 minutes up to a couple hours. Monitor the liquid level. Serve hot, strained if necessary.

***

Serve with cinnamon doughnuts or an assortment of holiday cookies.

LEFTOVER IDEAS: Strain the cider and keep in the fridge in a closed container. Drink cold or re-heat it. You can even use it to flavor soups or chilies: just substitute 1-2 cups for the usual broth.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

