Seven Layer Salad

2017-04-09 18.17.00RECIPE #479, DAY #662

FIVE STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: This is a recipe I grew up on*

TIMING: 15 minutes, plus how much times it takes you to cook bacon

DIFFICULTY: Easy, as long as you know how to cook bacon

TOOLS: I use a roasting pan with rack insert for my bacon, but whatever. A clear bowl is really ideal for serving, so that you can see the layers.

COOK TYPE: I roast my bacon the oven, but you could do it stovetop, as well.

HEALTH: As far as salads go, this one has some real pitfalls. Two really, and they are bacon and mayonnaise. But it’s still full of leafy greens and other veggies. I must have it, every once in awhile, especially in the summer. And it makes a great dish to share.

2017-04-09 18.16.34EXPERIENCE: I don’t know where my mom got this recipe, when I was a kid, but this was something we had fairly frequently and that she loves to share at parties. Of course, the mayo makes it less amenable to picnic buffets in the summertime, but there are still plenty of more ways to enjoy this. And summer IS the best.

We make a meal out of this. You could pair it with a soup or a cold joint of chicken, but I’m fine with just this and maybe a fruit salad. So addictive.

NOTES: I love to cut mayo with sour cream in order to lighten recipes. You could definitely try doing that here, with ½ the mayo into sour cream. Please let me know how that works for you.

I have often been in situations where I tossed this salad before serving. Sure, it looks prettier sitting on the table un-tossed, but then you get people who steal all the bacon and cheese and leave just lettuce for the stragglers.

My mother always used iceberg lettuce, but that, romaine, or butter lettuce will work.

It’s best to let this sit a little, so that the sugar and mayonnaise meld nicely. But even if you don’t the mayo and sugar make a remarkably good dressing.

***

  1. In a clear, serving bowl, layer 1 head torn or sliced romaine lettuce, then 1 diced green bell pepper, then 8 sliced scallions, then 10 oz defrosted peas.
  2. Over top, paint 1-1 ½ cups mayonnaise. Over the mayonnaise, sprinkle evenly 2-3 tablespoons granulated sugar, then ¾ cup grated sharp cheddar. Cover and refrigerate.
  3. When ready to serve, sprinkle with ¾ cup chopped bacon.

***

Serve with a fruit salad and an iced tea.

LEFTOVER IDEAS: This will last for maybe 24 hours, in the fridge. Plan to eat it all.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

