Ramp or Leek Omelet

DSC_0615RECIPE #482, DAY #668

FOUR STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Four-Egg Omelet with Ramps” from Michael Symon’s 5 in 5 for Every Season*

TIMING: 15 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Well, easy, except executing a perfect omelet, such as they teach in culinary school, is much more nuanced and difficult

TOOLS: Omelet pan or nonstick skillet, thin spatula

COOK TYPE: Stovetop

HEALTH: This omelet would make a great breakfast for pretty much any day. Just pair it up with a fruit salad and you have a protein powerhouse with added vitamins and nutrients.

DSC_0616EXPERIENCE: I don’t like eggs, because they make me nauseous. If they are mixed into things, I don’t so much notice. However, I still eat eggs on a regular basis because they are affordable, readily available, easy to work with, and adored by two members of my family. Plus, I lurve a nice, runny yolk. Just the yolk.

I reluctantly make things like omelets and frittatas and quiches, because I am not fond of feeling nauseous. I will sometimes make them, anyway, and the allure of ramps had me interested in this one. Plus, I have learned to appreciate a quality ricotta.

My husband, who likes eggs, really enjoyed this omelet. I liked it, but it did make me nauseous. I would make it again. (Caveat: there were no ramps at the store, so I went with a local specialty, these giant, North Carolina spring onions. If you end up with leeks, you could add a clove of sliced garlic to give it that garlicky taste.)

NOTES: As I just said, if you use leeks, add 1 slivered garlic clove.

In the directions below, I have you make 1 omelet for 2 people, then a second. That means you will need double the amount of everything that is bolded after step 2.

***

  1. In a small mixing bowl, whisk together 8 eggs, 4 tablespoons cream, and salt and pepper. Set aside.
  2. Warm an omelet pan or nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add 1 tablespoons unsalted butter and melt. Add ½ cup sliced ramps or leeks and a pinch of salt.
  3. Add half your whisked eggs and stir gently for 30 seconds. Make sure the eggs are evenly distributed and cover the pan. Cook for 1 minute.
  4. Uncover the pan and dollop ¼ cup ricotta down the center of your omelet. Cover again and cook 30 seconds-1 minute.
  5. Fold the omelet in thirds, cut in half, and serve. Then, repeat the whole thing over again from step 2.

***

Serve with a fruit salad and hot tea.

LEFTOVER IDEAS: You just want to make as much of this as you intend to eat right away. Eggs to not re-warm nicely.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

