Strawberry Almond Smoothie

DSC_0623RECIPE #484, DAY #669

THREE STARS

ORIGINAL RECIPE: “Strawberry-Almond Smoothie,” from Michael Symon’s 5 in 5: for Every Season*

TIMING: 5 minutes

DIFFICULTY: Easy

TOOLS: A blender which turns ice to snow

COOK TYPE: None

HEALTH: Pretty good, actually. A quick breakfast chock full of fruit and nuts, as well as your milk of choice. But then it ends there.

DSC_0622EXPERIENCE: I was dubious about this, because almonds are okay for me, and almond butter I don’t love. However, almonds are my husband favorite and we all love both strawberries and smoothies. So I gave it a whirl. (See what I did there? Whirl?)

It was as expected. I tolerated it. My nut-averting kids either choked it down or threw it out, and my husband liked it. It’s all about how much you like almonds, I guess, and the texture of blended almonds.

NOTES: You could make this with just about any “milk,” from cow’s to rice to coconut. We used good ol’ “vitamin D.”

You can use fresh bananas, but that would be a mistake. I always keep bananas—which I have peeled and broken into thirds—in a freezer bag in the freezer. They really elevate smoothies when they are frozen.

***

  1. In a blender, combine 2 frozen bananas, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 1 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup almonds, and 2 tablespoons almond butter. Blend until pretty smooth, adding more milk if needed.

***

Serve by whipping at your kids as they run out the door for school. If they like almonds.

LEFTOVER IDEAS: Only make as much as you will eat. Smoothies suck left-over.

*Recipe changed from the original.

Leave a Reply

